Daughters of the Storm by Kim Wilkins

 Daughters of the Storm by Kim Wilkins Book Cover

Summary

Five very different sisters team up against their stepbrother to save their kingdom in this Norse-flavored fantasy epic—the start of a new series in the tradition of Naomi Novik, Peter V. Brett, and Robin Hobb.

FIVE ROYAL SISTERS. ONE CROWN. 

They are the daughters of a king. Though they share the same royal blood, they could not be more different. Bluebell is a proud warrior, stronger than any man and with an ironclad heart to match. Rose’s heart is all too passionate: She is the queen of a neighboring kingdom who is risking everything for a forbidden love. Ash is discovering a dangerous talent for magic that might be a gift—or a curse. And then there are the twins—vain Ivy, who lives for admiration, and zealous Willow, who lives for the gods.

But when their father is stricken by a mysterious ailment, these five sisters must embark on a desperate journey to save him and prevent their treacherous stepbrother from seizing the throne. Their mission: find the powerful witch who can cure the king. But to succeed on their quest, they must overcome their differences and hope that the secrets they hide from one another and the world are never brought to light. Because if this royal family breaks, it could destroy the kingdom.


Book Details

Daughters of the Storm by Kim Wilkins
Series: Daughters of the Storm #1
Fiction, Fantasy, Epic
Hardcover, 448 pages
Published by Del Rey
Source: Publisher
My Rating: 4/5 Stars

 

My Review

Filled with dangerous magic, treachery, and intrigue, DAUGHTERS OF THE STORM by Kim Wilkins is a new Norse inspired epic fantasy narrated by five very different sisters. Daughters of the king who join together to save their kingdom from enemies both near and far.

Five Sisters of Blood, Daughters of the King - Each Hiding Something

Set in a gritty, Norse flavored world, Daughters of the Storm opens with Aelthric, the King of Thyrsland, lost in a magically induced coma; a curse that leaves the kingdom vulnerable from outside attacks and a stepson who threatens to take over from within. 

Though the sisters a far-flung across the realm, each returns home to their father and join together on a quest to find a cure. Each will be tested, their paths leading to surprising truths and dangerous outcomes.

These Sisters Can be Bitches but Just as Fiercely Protective

It is not often we get to see in a book the perspective of not one, but five multifaceted women narrating a story; Bluebell, Rose, Ash, Ivy, and Willow, each with a distinct voice, delivers a rich and layered story—one of power, ambition, and family loyalties. Daughters and sisters together but separately something much more. 

One of my favorite aspects of this rich series opener is the many surprising changes that occur between the sisters, both internal and external. 

Very much character driven, with the kind of twistiness that comes from familial plotting, Wilkins's introduces each fascinating sister with alternating chapters. The Warrior, Lover, Magician, Novice and Fool all come to mind when describing them. Each with flaws as well as strengths, creating compelling and multifaceted characters. Readers are sure to be drawn to one, only to find themselves favoring, surprisingly, another. 

Subtle Magic with and a Gritty, Stabby, Historical Feel - There will by severed limbs and blood along with both light and dark magic in this Norse inspired story.

For those of you looking forward to some good old-fashioned battle scenes, there is plenty to be had. Double-crossing and enemies from vying kingdoms ensure not everyone remains unscathed. Magic is very much real and I loved how subtle and believable Wilkins made it feel. 

A Villain Who Doesn't Always Follow the Correct Path

If you enjoy reading about villains who are of the morally ambiguous type, then you may just find Daughters of the Storm a great fit. More than one character seems to fall into this territory, and I enjoyed seeing the ripple effects of each one's actions.

In the End

Daughters of the Storm is an exciting series opener. Grounded with a gritty, Norse feel and flavored with magic, these five sisters play across a field of dark intrigue—each with a distinct voice. Their dynamic relationships are what kept me hooked to this read. The ending is resolved with enough room for future installments that I'm looking forward to.

Recommended to: Readers who enjoyed layered and intricate family dynamics, gritty world building and subtle magic of epic fantasy.