Waiting On Wednesday: Lark Rising by Sandra Waugh

Waiting On Wednesday: Lark Rising by Sandra Waugh

 Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly feature by Jill at Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming book releases that we're excited about! It's a fun way to share with others the books that you're eagerly awaiting to be released and you are excited about. This week's pre-publication that "I-Can't-Wait-To-Read" selection is: 


Lark Rising
by Sandra Waugh
On Sale Date: September 23, 2014
Hardback, 384 pages
Juvenile Fiction / Fantasy & Magic
Random House Books for Young Readers

Summary:

Lark has foreseen two things—she will fall for a young man with sage green eyes,and he will kill her.

Sixteen-year-old Lark Carew is happiest close to home, tending her garden and gathering herbs for medicines. But when her Sight warns her that monsters called Troths will soon invade her village, Lark is summoned on a journey to seek help from the legendary Riders of Tarnec. Little does she suspect that one of the Riders, Gharain, is the very man who has haunted her visions. Or that the people of Tarnec have called her there for another reason: Lark is the Guardian of Life, the first of four Guardians who must awaken their powers to recover four stolen amulets. Together, the amulets—Life, Death, Dark, and Light—keep the world in Balance. To take back the Life amulet, Lark will have to discover her true inner strength and give in to a love that she swears will be her downfall.

When I first saw the summary for Lark Rising, it immediately brought to mind some of Juliet Marillier's work that I've read and loved. I'm excited of course to discover this new author and Sandra Waugh's debut sounds very promising. And with the promise that it's "Full of romance and nature magic, this debut fantasy is perfect for fans of Shannon Hale, Juliet Marillier, and Kristin Cashore." how could I resist!

"A beautifully realized world, a unique voice, and a compelling, action-packed story. This is a striking debut novel with a lovely folkloric flavor." -Juliet Marillier, author of Wildwood Dancing

 

Blog Tour: Queen of Wands by Katee Robert + Review and Giveaway

Blog Tour: Queen of Wands by Katee Robert + Review and Giveaway

Book Review: Sea of Shadows by Kelley Armstrong

Book Review: Sea of Shadows by Kelley Armstrong