BLOG TOUR: Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore

BLOG TOUR: Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore

Hello Sweet Readers. Today I'm excited to a part of the Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore blog tour hosted by the fabulous IFB Tours. I have for you an excerpt, my review, and of course don't forget to enter the wonderful giveaway below! Click on the banner to see what the rest of the amazing blog tour schedule is.


Title: Dark Metropolis
Series: Dark Metropolis #1
Author: Jaclyn Dolamore
Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Age Group: YOUNG ADULT
Genre Type: Dystopia
Publication Date:  06-17-2014
Pages: 304
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Summary:

Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.

Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.


Excerpt

He placed his hands over hers, surrendering to the magic, letting a stream of life flow from his hands and into hers, tingling all the way down to his feet before the sensation passed. It always left him slightly dizzy, and today it seemed especially potent, shuddering through him so that he had to adjust his feet to stay balanced. It worked through him, and with him, but it was greater than him, too. The girl's cold fingers warmed.

He smiled. This moment never failed to satisfy.
Her skin remained pale, but life flowed back into it. He could feel the return of her spirit and, finally, see the flutter of eyelids that had probably been pressed shut by another hand not long ago.
She took a breath and coughed. He tightened his hands on hers and helped her sit up.
"Where am I?" She seemed disoriented, which was normal, and angry, which was also normal enough. "What is this place?"
"My workroom."
"Workroom?" Are you a doctor?" she asked. "You don't look any older than I am."
"Not exactly."
She hunched forward, eyes darting around the room, across the shelves lined with vials and powders. her glance was furtive and troubled.
"Who are you?" she asked.
Uncle said he should never tell anyone who he was or exactly what he could do. People will do anything for immortality, he said. They'd tear out your liver and eat it if they thought it would keep them from death. You must keep you secrets. "I'm here to help you."
Her eyes shot open, as if she suddenly remembered something important. "You have to let them go."
"Let who go?" Her intensity gave him pause.
She reached under her coat and released the know of her neckties with one tug. Her dress was familiar. Too familiar. Dark blue, white collar, slim necktie-the same clothing the Telephone club waitress had worn the previous night. Then, in one quick motion, she pulled the necktie around his neck.
He jerked away from the table, pain jabbing through him as she tightened her grip around his windpipe, and she came with him.


Review

Dark Metropolis by author Jaclyn Dolamore is a dark, highly atmospheric read. I was immediately drawn to it's captivating cover as well as the intriguing synopsis. Inspired by 1920s Berlin and the original Metropolis film, this alternate world features dark magic and some sinister elements of horror.

Three reasons why I enjoyed Dark Metropolis:

A World Where Necromancy and Decadence Collide.
One of my favorite aspects of this story is the way the two settings, so completely opposite, come together in this story. The Telephone Club, a nightclub that friends Thea and Nan work at is reminiscent of a Cabaret with its dark glitz and glam. Full of decadence. I loved how this facade was so different from what really lies beneath the city's and The Telephone Club's opulence.

Chilling Moments of Horror and Gore.
The factory that runs much of the city is worked by seemingly invisible figures who live in a stark, horror filled world. This is the world that Nan wakes up and finds herself in. With no memory on how she got there, Nan must fight to stay alive long enough to uncover the mystery behind the workers. Where are all the workers coming from? Why can't anyone remember who they are? This is where the dark twist in the story comes in that I really enjoyed. At times it is gory, and definitely touches upon the element of horror. It is a world where the once living are turned into something else and used a puppets to work the factory.

Exciting Heroines Who are Unique and Strong.
Dark Metropolis boasts not one, but two unique and strong heroines. Told from alternating viewpoints, Thea and Nan give the readers and inside look from not only their point of view, but from the very setting they are thrust into. As Nan is thrust into the mysterious and horror filled life of the factory, the reader gets a tantalizing look at the dark magic, necromancy, and a surprise friendship that has hints of romance. Smart, brave and determined, Nan confronts some seriously scary and terrible stuff that would have most of us crying in the corner wanting a blanket to hide under. Whereas Nan gave us the thrills and chills, Thea is plotting and planning her way into the factory. Through her we meet the mysterious Freddy, a figure who befriends Thea at the Telephone Club. who is not only involved with Thea, but also Nan and the horrors of the factory below. Again, I liked how Thea tried to take action, determined to save her friend, as well as solve a mystery of the disappearing people.

Three things I wanted more of in Dark Metropolis:

I wanted more world-building.
This may not bother some readers since the atmosphere and horror elements were well done. But, I felt like something was missing. I wanted more back story or history, with more fleshed out world. I felt like I had very little information as to why there was a factory (why the needed to run it as they did in the story), what happened to the magic, and was all this due to a war?

The plot was wrapped up to easily for me.
I felt like the ending was somewhat rushed and too easily wrapped up. Loose ends quickly tied up. After much of the times was spent getting to know what was going on behind the factory, and who/what all the workers are, they story came to an easy and fast ending. An ending that I enjoyed, but it came to fast.

It had very little romance.
Again, this may not even bother some, but I was excited for the romance hinted at in the story. Both Thea and Nan form friendships in the story, and both hold the possibility of romance, but I just didn't *feel* the romance for either.

The Bottom line:

I enjoyed Dark Metropolis, the story gave me all the delicious atmosphere I wanted, a strong friendship between two heroine, as well as some dark elements of horror. What kept me from becoming completely invested in the story, and loving it as much as I really wanted to was its lack of world-building, very little romance, and a plot that I felt wrapped up the story a too easily.

My Rating: 3.0 Stars. I liked it.

PLEASE NOTE: A courtesy review copy of this book was provided by Disney-Hyperion in exchange for my fair review. Thank you Disney-Hyperion for the review opportunity!


Jaclyn Dolamore.JPG

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Jaclyn Dolamore was homeschooled in a hippie sort of way and spent her childhood reading as many books as her skinny nerd-body could lug from the library and playing elaborate pretend games with her sister Kate. She skipped college and spent eight years drudging through retail jobs, developing her thrifty cooking skills and pursuing a lifelong writing dream. She has a passion for history, thrift stores, vintage dresses, David Bowie, drawing, and organic food. She lives with her partner and plot-sounding-board, Dade, and two black tabbies who have ruined her carpeting.

WEBSITETWITTER | FACEBOOK



Giveaway



Book Review: Dream Boy by Mary Crockett and Madelyn Rosenberg

Book Review: Dream Boy by Mary Crockett and Madelyn Rosenberg

Waiting On Wednesday: The Spiritglass Charade by Colleen Gleason

Waiting On Wednesday: The Spiritglass Charade by Colleen Gleason