Book Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Book Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Uninvited.jpg

Title:  Uninvited
Series: (Uninvited #1)
By: Sophie Jordan
Author Info: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Age Group: Young Adult
Genre Type: Dystopia, Science Fiction
Publication Date: January 28th 2014
Pages: 384 pages
Format: ARC
Source: Edelweiss
Publisher: HarperTeen

Goodreads Summary

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.


Uninvited is a thrilling new young adult dystopian by Sophie Jordan that takes on such thought provoking themes as free will and human nature. It introduces us to a world held hostage in fear. A world that uses genetic profiling and forms of preventive government against a new threat known as Homicidal Tendency Syndrome, or HTS, a gene the predisposes you to acts of violence and killing. I was captivated and frightened by the realistic feeling of the possibilities presented within Uninvited. Are you changed simply by the fact you carry a certain gene, a DNA that changes others perception of you, changes the very identity you thought you were.

Uninvited goes beyond the pretty girl on the pretty cover syndrome, and creates a gripping, thought provoking story, filled with loss of identity, hard life lessons, and hope, and a heroine that truly surprised me and won my admiration.  At the story’s center is our heroine Davy, a teen prodigy who is creative, smart, and popular.  Who comes from a loving and happy family. Adored and spoiled, she’s even a bit prejudiced against those who have the HTS gene. But all this is about to change as Sophie Jordan takes this girl and puts her through a hell that many of us could hardly imagine, let alone experience as a teen. You see, young Davy has just been confirmed to be a carrier of the HTS gene and her precious world is about to come crashing down. She loses everything important to her. But, this once lucky and spoiled girl rises like a phoenix out the ashes, and instead of crumbling, Sophie Jordan has created a heroine with backbone and resilience. One who fumbles, falls, but rises to the occasion.

Sean is a fellow HTS carrier and a rebel. He comes from a completely different background than Davy, but seems to be the only one that can relate to her. Sharing the same gene, and both labeled by it, they draw strength from each other. Their friendship and loyalty, as well as attraction to each other adds emotional substance and depth to Uninvited.

Without giving too much away about the storyline, I want to assure you that although this story begins with a gifted and pretty girl in a High School setting, it is so much more than that. There’s a important concept of duality of Davy’s nature, a contrast of before and after HTS. The story slowly ratchets up the tension, with increasing amount of danger and action. With high emotions, gluing you to the book. It is what comes after the HTS revelation that creates pure page turning ability. There are elements of survival that I did not expect, ones that took the book to a whole new, exciting, and scary level that I did not see coming.

There is romance in Uninvited that complements the storyline, one that deepens it, and brings emotional depth to the characters. And for those of you who hate a love triangle, there is none to worry about. It also becomes clear that Sophie Jordan writes adult romances and knows how to put sizzle and tension into a romance, but with a skilled and practiced hand. The romance added an intensity to the story, and in no way took away from it.

Uninvited was my first book by Sophie Jordan, and I’m hooked on her writing. I’m eager to see what happens next, and I will be excitedly waiting for the last installment in Uninvited’s  two part book series.

Recommended for readers who like emotionally gripping and thought provoking stories, with action, danger and romance that add high intensity.

My Rating: 4.5 Stars. I really liked it!

PLEASE NOTE

A courtesy review copy of this book was provided by HarperTeen via Edelweiss in exchange for my fair review. Thank you HarperTeen for the review opportunity!

 

Book Review: Her Dark Curiosity by Megan Shepherd

Book Review: Her Dark Curiosity by Megan Shepherd

Waiting On Wednesday: Moth and Spark by Anne Leonard

Waiting On Wednesday: Moth and Spark by Anne Leonard