Stacking The Shelves: 01-18-2014

Stacking The Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. It is all about sharing the books we are adding to our shelves, and sharing with you our excitement for our newest titles, and maybe even have you discover a new book in the process! It can be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!


Stolen Songbird
(The Malediction Trilogy #1)
by Danielle L. Jensen
Expected publication: April 1st 2014
by Strange Chemistry

Summary:

For those who have loved Seraphina and Graceling comes another truly fabulous fantasy...

For five centuries, a witch’s curse has bound the trolls to their city beneath the ruins of Forsaken Mountain. Time enough for their dark and nefarious magic to fade from human memory and into myth. But a prophesy has been spoken of a union with the power to set the trolls free, and when Cécile de Troyes is kidnapped and taken beneath the mountain, she learns there is far more to the myth of the trolls than she could have imagined.

Cécile has only one thing on her mind after she is brought to Trollus: escape. Only the trolls are clever, fast, and inhumanly strong. She will have to bide her time, wait for the perfect opportunity.

But something unexpected happens while she’s waiting – she begins to fall for the enigmatic troll prince to whom she has been bonded and married. She begins to make friends. And she begins to see that she may be the only hope for the half-bloods – part troll, part human creatures who are slaves to the full-blooded trolls. There is a rebellion brewing. And her prince, Tristan, the future king, is its secret leader.

As Cécile becomes involved in the intricate political games of Trollus, she becomes more than a farmer’s daughter. She becomes a princess, the hope of a people, and a witch with magic powerful enough to change Trollus forever. Add to Stolen Songbird to Goodreads.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Okay- I'm totally excited over Stolen Songbird! Strange Chemistry sent me a beautiful copy in the mail that I'm drooling over. The cover is really gorgeous, and I can't wait to read it. Thank You Strange Chemistry!


Uninvited.jpg

Uninvited
(Uninvited #1)
by Sophie Jordan
Expected publication: January 28th 2014
by HarperTeen

Summary:

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.


When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann. Add Uninvited
to Goodreads.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm excited to try Sophie Jordan's first dystopian YA, and I can't wait to find out more about Davy's character and the HTS gene that the story unfolds in Uninvited. Thank you, HarperTeen!

 


Book Review: Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

Book Review: Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

Waiting On Wednesday: Alienated by Melissa Landers